Whatever Wednesday: Favorite Childhood Movies


The Goonies. The NeverEnding Story. Red Dawn. Howard the Duck. The Princess Bride. Toy Soldiers.The Boy who could Fly.

Anything with Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, Judd Nelson, and gang in it, Say Anything, Adventures in Babysitting, Crocodile Dundee, Uncle Buck, The Great Outdoors, Spaceballs, Funny Farm, National Lampoon’s Vacation series, Any Star Trek movie EXCEPT The Wrath of Khan (that’s a whole ‘nother post though), The Mission, WarGames…. I could go on and on.

These are some of my FAVORITE movies as I grew up.

No, I didn’t list the Gremlin or Freddy movies. I have never seen them. My parents did not let me watch them and quite frankly, I have no desire to watch them now. (Even though I’ve been told my darling doggy Maggie looks like a Mogwai – and yes, I used IMDB to spell that correctly!)

But the other movies were faves.

I’m sure I have left some out. There have been many many other favorite movies along the way as well – Pretty Woman, Erin Brokovich, Radio, What about Bob, Happy Gilmore, Billy Madison, Big Daddy, Fried Green Tomatoes, Steel Magnolias, Wedding Crashers, Star Trek X, and many many many others.

The movie I’m most excited about sharing with my kids? The Goonies by a mile. I’ve already shared The NeverEnding story with them. But The Goonies will have to wait until I’m okay with them hearing some of the language present in the film. I know they’ll love it.

What about you? What are some of your favorite flicks? Which ones are you most excited about sharing with your kids?

5 thoughts on “Whatever Wednesday: Favorite Childhood Movies

  1. Remember how I said I’ve met a lot of celebs? I met Corey Feldman from Goonies and the guy who played Mike TV. I met a lot of the 80’s heartthrobs. I met Kevin’s older brother from The Wonder Years. You name an 80s show or movie I’ve probably met one of the sidekicks or something. lol. I also met the mother in Silver Spoons. I am such a nerd.

  2. Two words…Willy Wonka :)

    Also I give props to National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Since our family is pretty dysfunctional, we can relate to a lot of that movie. Every year on Christmas Eve, my dysfunctional family for once acts like a real family and we eat, drink, and laugh our asses off while watching Clark Griswald trying to stuff an evergreen tree in their front room. It’s a classic.

    We also bought Chunky a “sh*tters full” hat (the one that cousin Eddie wore while dumping sewage into the public drain) for his first Christmas. It was a HUGE hit with my family. Yup, it was like a postcard picture right out of WalMart…cause that’s how we roll :)

    PS. Goonies rule

    • That is AWESOME about the hate. Just awesome. I keep threatening to buy Hubs a Moose Mug. But those things are PRICEY on eBay.

      And yes, Willy Wonka! Although I have to say – the original Veruca annoyed the hell outta me. I can still remember her voice. Worse than nails on a chalkboard, I tell you!

      PS. Gooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnniiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssss!!!!!!!!!

  3. Marcie –

    We started letting the kids watch The Boy Who Could Fly – because we too, forgot about the language. Less than 5 minutes in and there’s the drunken dad/uncle on the steps cursing up a storm! Whoa!!! We turned it off so fast….

    Wonder Years was an awesome series. AS was Life Goes On. (Obla dee Obla da…)

    My crush when I was younger was Sean Astin.

  4. You know I completely forgot about the language in Goonies until I started watching it with my 7 year old. It was nothing but cussing! lol. I guess I was just too focused on Corey Haim when I was younger. My all time favorite movie as a kid, Space Camp. And I loved the Wonder Years and Punky Brewster…I know they were TV shows but they deserve a shout out. Oh and I am with you on so many of those movies. I met the guy who played Atrayu a few years back and all I can say is that he is H-O-T! hehe. He’s the only person I’ve met where I was starstruck (and I have met many celebs), probably because I had no idea who he was until my hubby said he was Atrayu. I flipped when I heard that. My crush when I was a kid…hands down Fred Savage. My plan to marry him still hasn’t worked out but as long as we’re both still breathing I will not lose hope. lol

Use your voice and share:

