DAY EIGHT (via LIVING The Self-Care Challenge, Oct. 6-26, 2010)


I loved Day Eight’s challenge. So much in fact, that I took Diane and Ann up on it which is part of the reason I have not been keeping up with blogging the 21 day challenge.

You see, my days, just like that of many mothers out there, is hectic. I wake at 615am (ish) to get my 6 year old and 4 year old off to school. Then our 2 year old wakes up. And he is a handful. I knew his sisters going to school would go one of two ways: Make him more independent or more dependent. It’s been the latter as of late and he’s been waking up earlier and earlier which means mommy is lucky to get a chance to even crack open her laptop before nap time.

A few days went by this past week without even opening my lap top until late in the evening after bedtime. Yes, I tweet but I can sneak in tweeting here and there from my PDA. Blogging is a little harder to do. Even right now, I’m hiding out in my son’s room, away from the hub bub of the children. Despite that my husband is awake, if they need something, it’s mommy they’re coming to – regardless of how many things I may be attempting to complete at that time. (And right now? My husband is talking to me about his blog as I type. But that’s a whole ‘nother post for another day)

Day Eight’s challenge was to take care of your sleep by making yourself go to bed 10 minutes earlier. Sad to say that 10 minutes earlier would have been 1:50am most nights. Remember that I wake my kids up at 615 for school? Yes, I have been napping, not sleeping. SO not taking care of myself.

I am happy to report that this past week?

I have been in bed before midnight most nights with the exception of the past two nights.

I hope to continue this trend this next week. On days when I have been to bed earlier, I have felt much better the following day. I have not been nearly as grumpy, short-tempered, bleary-eyed, groggy, ready to fall over at 10:00 a.m, and not been glogging down the coffee as quickly. It’s been lovely.

So thank you, Diane & Ann – I owe my extra sleep this week to this challenge!

DAY EIGHT Cheers to you—an entire week of the 21 day self-care challenge completed! Sleep experts say that 74% of adults are sleep deprived. Rather than the recommended 7.5 to 8 hours nightly, the average is 6.9 hours, an hour less than in 1990. Women forego sleep because of our “do it all” mentality. Sleep deprivation impairs ability to reason clearly, to maintain alertness (e.g. for driving), to solve problems, and to remember. Let alone to stay calm and … Read More

via LIVING The Self-Care Challenge, Oct. 6-26, 2010

This entry was posted in postpartum depression by Lauren Hale. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lauren Hale

Sassy, outspoken, laughing, football loving, F1 & MotoGP fanatic, self-described coffee snob, and bacon addicted Mama blogging about Postpartum Mood Disorders as she tries to figure out her new place in this world. C'mon along for the ride, won't ya?

Use your voice and share:

